The Section 6 Class D regular season and sectional champion Randolph Cardinals cleaned up in postseason awards for their division, led by Player of the Year Xander Hind.

Hind won Section 6 Class D’s top prize after a huge season including 2,577 rushing yards and 34 touchdowns; 191 receiving yards and two touchdowns; 66 tackles, a sack and two interceptions on defense; and a kick return touchdown on special teams.

His teammates Jaiden Huntington and Ryan Carpenter also won major awards, with Huntington named Co-Defensive Player of the Year and Carpenter named Lineman of the Year. Huntington had 73 tackles, a sack, interception, fumble recovery and one return touchdown. Carpenter paved the way for an offense that produced more than 3,000 rushing yards.

Cardinals coach Brent Brown also won the Coach of the Year award for an 11-1 season that included sectional and regional championships.

Randolph’s Hind, Carpenter and senior fullback Payton Slade made the first-team all-star offense and Huntington, junior defensive end Maverick Adams, senior defensive end Sterling Skye and senior defensive back Carson Conley made the first-team defense. Junior running back Tristan Farnham, junior offensive lineman and senior wide receiver Owen Nelson made the second team. Nelson was also an all-academic team selection. Senior Preston Burrows and junior Talon Rowland were honorable mentions.

Trending Food Videos

Also collecting a major award was Franklinville/Ellicottville senior quarterback Gian Nuzzo, the Co-Offensive Player of the year. Nuzzo had 925 rushing yards and 13 touchdowns 592 passing yards and eight touchdowns (to four interceptions) and a receiving touchdown.

Nuzzo, junior running back Hunter Smith and senior offensive linemen Tyler Gibas and Ben Brol made the first-team offense and senior defensive lineman Koda Curtis made the first-team defense. Junior running back Beau Bielecki, senior defensive lineman Hayden Trietley and junior defensive back Noah Shenk made the second-team defense. F/E junior Owen Chudy, senior Brad John and sophomores Isaac Towne and Billy Slavinski earned honorable mentions. Brol was the Titans’ all-academic team selection.

For Cattaraugus-Little Valley, senior defensive end Raiden Terhune made the first-team defense while senior defensive back Devin Henderson and sophomore D.J. Szata made the second-team defense. Freshman Payton Bradley was an honorable mention. Junior Camden Young was an all-academic selection. The T-Wolves also won the team sportsmanship award and were represented by Donnie Seamon.

Other major award winners included Co-Offensive Player of the Year Bryce Hinsdale (Clymer/Sherman/Panama wide receiver) and Co-Defensive Player of the Year Zander Keim (Portville linebacker).

Local & Social