Randolph vs. MEC

Randolph senior Tyler Hind shoots a free throw during the Section 6 Class C Championship crossover against Middle Early College on Tuesday at Buffalo State College.

The CCAA East boys basketball divisions released their 2019-20 all-star teams and postseason honors Tuesday, March 10, with the completion of all teams’ playoff campaigns.

Randolph’s Tyler Hind was unanimously selected as the Player of the Year for CCAA East Div. I. It marks the fourth straight season that Hind received this honor. Hind, who averaged 23.5 points, six rebounds, six assists and 2.5 steals in league play, was joined alongside teammates Gabe McCoy (13 points, 10.5 rebounds per game) and Kaleb Steward (12 points, six rebounds, six assists) for first-team all-star honors.

Also being selected as first-team all-stars were Salamanca junior Jarod White (15 points and 10 rebounds per game) and senior Aaron George (14 points, four rebounds per game) and Silver Creek senior Dom Jamison (16 points, four assists, and three rebounds per game).

Kevin Hind was selected Coach of the Year. Hind guided Randolph to a 19-1 regular season record and 10-0 in league play. Hind had the Cardinals in the Top 10 of New York State Class C Schools for the duration of the regular season, and led Randolph to their third straight Section 6, Class C2 Championship in the postseason.

The league’s second team features Salamanca 8th grader Lucus Brown (10.6 points, four rebounds); Portville senior Dalton Tobola (16 points, four rebounds); Silver Creek seniors Jeremy Wilcox (7.7 points, 7.5 rebounds) and Spencer Harford (8.4 points, 7.4 rebounds), and Randolph junior Ashton Bushey (6.5 points, 3.7 rebounds).

Falconer was selected by the league coaches as the recipient of this year’s team sportsmanship award.

— In Div. II, Tyler Robinson of North Collins was selected as Player of the Year. North Collins finished 11-12 overall, but made a run in Section 6 Class D tournament before falling to Sherman in the championship.

Ellicottville’s Leif Jimerson, Clayton Rowland and Franklinville’s Logan Frank highlighted Big 30 schools in Division II with first-team honors. They were joined by Forestville’s Gavin Christian and Javier West.

Ellicottville’s Dave McCann was selected as Coach of the Year. McCann guided the Eagles to a 17-5 overall record and finished 10-0 in league play. Ellicottville defeated Frewsburg in the Section 6 Class C2 quarterfinals before falling to Holland in the semifinals.

Falconer and North Collins earned Team Sportsmanship honors.

The second-team all-stars included Ellicottville junior Wyatt Chudy, Pine Valley sophomore Wayne Libby, Franklinville sophomore Blake Frank and senior Zach Wolfer and Cattaraugus-Little Valley sophomore Kordell Oakes.

Honorable mentions included Cattaraugus-Little Valley’s Josh Halterman and Gage Furl; Ellicottville’s Jordan Grinols, Logan Grinols and Niklas Logel; and Franklinville’s Tyler Clear and Matt Peters.

Trending Food Videos