The CCAA East I boys basketball league has announced its yearly awards, as voted on by the league’s head coaches.

Randolph junior Tyler Hind was selected as league Player of the Year for the third straight season. Hind, who split the award his freshman year and has now won it outright in the last two seasons, averaged 21 points, six assists and 4.5 rebounds per game during the league campaign. He helped lead Randolph to an 8-2 division record and a second place finish, while guiding the Cardinals to a Section VI, Class C2 Championship.

Hind is joined on the first team of all-stars by Silver Creek’s Brady Woleben, a senior who averaged 22.5 points and 12.5 rebounds per game in league play. Allegany-Limestone’s Sam Flanders (senior), Casey Curran (junior) and Ben Giardini (junior) were all named to the first team, along with Salamanca junior Aaron George. Flanders (12.5), Curran (12.4) and Giardini (11) all finished with scoring averages in double figures for the Gators, who finished the league season 10-0 and won the division. George averaged 16 points and 5 rebounds per game for the Warriors.

The second team consists of Silver Creek senior Tucker Gates (10.8 pts, 4 rebounds), Salamanca sophomore Isaac Brown (12.5 points, 5.2 rebounds), Allegany-Limestone senior Conner Golley (10.8 points, 7.9 rebounds) and junior Michael Wolfgang (10.8 points, 3.1 rebounds), and Randolph freshman Gabe McCoy (10.5 points, 8.8 rebounds) and junior Kaleb Steward.

Allegany-Limestone’s Glenn Anderson was named Coach of the Year for the second straight season. Anderson guided the Gators to an undefeated league season, their second straight division championship, and a Section 6 Class B-2 title. The Portville Panthers were the recipients of the Team Sportsmanship Award.


Franklinville guard Josh Haskell won the CCAA East II boys basketball player of the year, as voted on by the league’s coaches, after a season in which he averaged 21 points and 23.7 in league play.

Haskell was joined on the league’s first-team all-stars by North Collins junior Tyler Robinson (15 pounds per game), Ellicottville senior Steven Rowland (10.4 points, 8.6 Rebounds per game), Pine Valley sophomore Christian Ortiz, Forestville sophomore Javier West (11.3 ppg) and Franklinville sophomore Logan Frank (18.2 ppg).

Eagles coach Dave McCann won coach of the year after leading the Eagles to a 10-0 league record (13-7 overall), earning a No. 1 seed in the Section 6 Class C-2 playoffs.

The East II second-team all-stars included three Ellicottville sophomores: Leif Jimerson (13.6 ppg), Clayton Rowland (10.5 points, 8.3 rebounds) and Wyatt Chudy (8.7 points, 8.0 rebounds). Joining those three Eagles were Forestville junior Gavin Christian, Cattaraugus-Little Valley senior Michael Perkins and Forestville senior Luke Szumigala.

Ellicottville also had one honorable mention, junior Jordan Grinols, and C-LV had one as well, sophomore Nick Savidge. Franklinville junior Zack Wolfer and senior Ben Mooney were also honorable mentions.

The Timberwolves won the league’s team sportsmanship award, with Savidge as the player representative.